Not of our own fault

I remember the pain of that day. I don’t remember word for word what was said or who had what on but I remember the pain of that talk. It’s not a fresh mark because it has been many years now…16 years. But if i stop to close my eyes i still remember the sting of her words. We were done. not thru fault of mine or even hers. it was her roommates who were tired of trying to live in the big city and wanted to move back home. that left her in a tough spot, she couldn’t afford to stay so she had to go. it broke my heart. It was in the parking lot of a hollywood video and it did not take long. and less than 24 hours later she was on her way home and I never saw her again. It was the first of a few Elizabeth’s that would come walking into my life.

It was my first relationship and I did not know yet that what happened that day was not rare but instead very common. Love hurts and other times it takes a whole village down with it. As i type this a few of the things we did come back to me and it reminds me of a line from a song by Bruce Springsteen “The River”

Is a dream a lie if it don’t come true or is it something worse

I don’t think about her or those moments often, its been many years since I have and at this moment I wonder what happened to her but those first memories of life and breakup still linger in my mind. We dreamed big in our time and in the end all I had from it was dust. I remember a great deal more sometimes then I know, I guess sometimes it takes a moment of pain to bring those good and bad moments come back to life.

Leave a Reply

