Ode to Kenny

It’s yesterday again
Here inside my mind
And I can’t find a way
to leave your love behind
I wanna wake up to the day
Your memory won’t stand in my way


Sometimes when the sun goes down
Shadows fall across this little town
And I close my eyes and I drift away
to another place in another time
When the world was ours and she was mine
I dream of holdin her again someday


“Jack and Diane” painted a picture of my life and my dreams,
Suddenly this crazy world made more sense to me
Well I heard it today and I couldn’t help but sing along
Cause every time I hear that song…


Here’s to the strong, thanks to the brave don’t give up hope some people change
against all odds, against the grain love finds a way, some people change


Sunny days seem to hurt the most.
I wear the pain like a heavy coat.
I feel you everywhere I go.
I see your smile, I see your face,
I hear you laughin’ in the rain.
I still can’t believe you’re gone.

It ain’t fair: you died too young,
Like the story that had just begun,
But death tore the pages all away.
God knows how I miss you,
All the hell that I’ve been through,
Just knowin’ no-one could take your place.
An’ sometimes I wonder,
Who’d you be today?

Would you see the world? Would you chase your dreams?
Settle down with a family,
I wonder what would you name your babies?
Some days the sky’s so blue,
I feel like I can talk to you,
An’ I know it might sound crazy.


Starin’ out into the wild blue yonder
So many thoughts to sit and ponder
‘Bout life and love and lack of
And this emptiness in my heart

Too old to be wild and free still
Too young to be over the hill
Should I try to grow up
But who knows where to start


I move on like a sinners prayer
Letting go like a levee breaks
Walk away as if I don’t care
Learn to shoulder my mistakes
I’m built to fade like your favorite song
Getting reckless when there’s no need
Laugh as your stories ramble on
Break my heart, but it won’t bleed
My only friends are pirates
That’s just who I am
I’m better as a memory than as your man


Skeletons in closets
Ghosts underneath the bed
They hide out in pictures
And words better left unsaid
They hang around like perfume
And haunt me like an ancient melody
When I’m not chasing demons,
There’s demons chasing me

There’s things that I can’t leave alone
‘Cause they won’t leave me alone
What I want ain’t what I need
Still I reach for the things I crave
Then try to run away
Am I afraid of being free
‘Cause when I’m not chasing demons
There’s demons chasing me


So damn easy to say that life’s so hard
Everybody’s got their share of battle scars
As for me, I’d like to thank my lucky stars that I’m alive and well…
It’d be easy to add up all the pain
And all the dreams you sat and watched go up in flames
Dwell on the wreckage as it smolders in the rain
But not me…I’m alive


 

Leave a Reply

